Databases
- Research DatabasesComplete list of databases available from SMCM Library. Search by name or browse by subject.
- Academic Search UltimateA multi-disciplinary full-text database.
- America: History & LifeIndex and abstracts providing historical coverage of the United States and Canada.
- Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text coverage of 380 periodicals and more than 220 books. In addition, this database offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 780 academic journals, magazines and trade publications, as well as for over 230 books. Subject coverage is vast as well. Art & Architecture Complete covers a wide variety of pertinent subjects, including antiques, art and art history, interior, landscape and set design and much more.
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window
A collection of over two million high-quality images, curated from leading museums and archives around the world. Images are rights-cleared for education and research, and include open access content and rare materials.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
The BAS contains nearly 900,000 bibliographical citations on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East Asia, Southeast Asia, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
- Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new windowFilm & Television Literature Index is a comprehensive bibliographic database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndex and abstracts providing historical coverage of the world (excluding the United States and Canada). Scope: 1450 to the present.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowMLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. The bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. Subjects: Literary criticism, language, linguistics, rhetoric and folklore of literatures of all countries.
- Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new windowOnline classical music library offering streaming access to more than 52,677 CDs with more than 756,740 tracks, standard and rare repertoire.
- Project Muse Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowProject Muse provides content from journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, including "current content from over 400 titles representing nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new windowRépertoire International de Littérature Musicale contains records in over 100 languages; entries include original-language titles, title translations in English, full bibliographic information, and abstracts in English, as well as author, journal, and in-depth subject indexes.
Newspapers and Magazines
- 19th Century U.S. NewspapersDigital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers ... providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.
Includes both full-text databases and online indexes
- American Periodicals SeriesPeriodicals from 1740 to 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children’s and women’s magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals.
- National NewspapersBaltimore Sun
Christian Science Monitor, 1988 -
New York Times, 1980 -
Wall Street Journal, 1984 -
Washington Post, 1987 -
- New York Times 1851-2021 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Historical full text coverage from 1851 to 2021 on the ProQuest database platform
- Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new windowtens of millions of searchable newspaper pages, dating as far back as the 1700s.
- Picture Post Historical Archive, 1938-1957Picture Post was published in the Great Britain and is an essential resource for studying international social and political issues of the day, and how they were brought into popular consciousness.
- Readers' Guide RetrospectiveIndexes U.S. magazines from 1890-1982
- Times (of London) Digital Archive, 1785-2014 This link opens in a new window
Comprises full-text images of more than 200 years of The Times, a highly regarded resource for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage. With over 12 million articles, the archive supports research across multiple disciplines including the humanities, political science, philosophy, and business, along with coverage of all major international historical events.
- Underground Newspaper CollectionAvailable on Microfilm. The Guide is located in the Reference Collection, PN 4784 U53 B41
