Library Databases with Data & Statistics
- ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research) This link opens in a new window
Access to the world's largest archive of social science data. Includes information on topics including crime, international conflict, mass political attitudes, census data, health care, etc.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest)
A comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Over 1400 individually indexed tables (with attached spreadsheets), both searchable and browsable. Use the Abstract as a convenient source for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.
- International Historical Statistics 1750-2010
An authoritative collection of statistics providing key economic and social indicators, with coverage back to 1750 and updated to 2010 wherever possible.
- Statista This link opens in a new window
A data aggregation platform presenting information by way of over one million statistical facts (with 500+ statistics added daily) covering 80,000 topics, 170 industries, 18,000 sources, 20,000 studies, 2,000 dossiers, 80 industry reports, and 17,000 forecasts.
- Vital Statistics on American Politics This link opens in a new window
Contains data offering more than 230 tables and charts covering the full spectrum of American politics dating back to 1788.
Data & Statistics Online
- U.S. Census DataData from the U.S. Census Bureau
- Current Population Survey (CPS) - U.S. CensusLabor force statistics for the population of the United States.
- Data.govThousands of data sets from different government agencies.
- General Social SurveyGeneral Social Survey (GSS) is a survey of social, cultural and political indicators.
- National Longitudinal Surveys (NLS) - Bureau of Labor Statisticsponsored by the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the National Longitudinal Surveys (NLS) are a family of surveys dedicated to tracking the labor market and other life experiences of American men and women.
Create an account or search as a guest. - United Nations (UN) DataDownload UN data on a variety of topics.
- Kids CountData on children and families in the U.S.
- Early Childhood Longitudinal Program (ECLS)Three longitudinal studies that examine child development, school readiness, and early school experiences.
- National Data Archive on Child Abuse & NeglectData collected by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services on child maltreatment.
- UNICEF StatisticsUNICEF statistics on children around the world.
- Bureau of Justice StatisticsStatistics & data on the U.S. correctional population, criminal justice system, and crime.
- FBI Crime StatisticsStatistics on crime in the U.S. by the FBI
- Campus Safety and Security Data AnalysisSafety and security data on colleges and universities compiled by the U.S. Department of Education.
- International Crime Victims SurveyData on householders' experience with crime, policing, crime prevention, and feelings of insecurity in a large number of nations.
- Bureau of Labor StatisticsData on unemployment & employment, inflation, productivity, and consumer spending
- Bureau of Economic AnalysisData on the U.S. economy from the Department of Commerce.
- World Bank Open DataFree and open access to data about development in countries around the globe.
- African Statistical YearbookStatistical information from all African nations from the African Development Bank Group
- National Center for Education StatisticsStatistics on education in both the U.S. and abroad. The National Center for Education Statistics is a part of the U.S. Department of Education.
- NCES International Comparisons in EducationStatistical cross-national comparisons of education.
- Common Core of DataData about all public schools and education agencies in the U.S.
- IPEDSPrimary source for information on U.S. colleges, universities, and technical and vocational institutions.
- EdStats from the World BankEducation statistics from around the world.
- Global Database on Elections and Democracy, International IDEAInternational voter turnout and voting age population statistics and different qualitative data as well.
- Global Elections DatabaseProvides information on the results of both national and subnational elections around the world. These data are presented at two levels of analysis, allowing users to quickly identify the results of elections within a country as a whole or within particular constituencies or districts of a country.
- International Foundation for Electoral Systems (IFES) Pre-Election SurveysInternational pre-election public opinion research
- ElectionGuide from IFESStatistics on national elections around the world.
- Roper Center Election DataU.S. State and national elections data from Cornell University's Roper Institute.
- U.S. Census Voting and Registration StatisticsData on voting and registration for every U.S. election since 1964.
- U.S. Federal Election Commission, Election Results, 1982-PresentElection statistics for every Presidential, House, and Senate election in the U.S. from 1982 to the Present.
- U.S. House Election Statistics, 1920 - PresentOfficial vote counts for the U.S. House of Representatives, dating back to 1920.
- United States Elections ProjectNational and State Voter turn-out rates (1787-Present), Voter Demographics and Early Voting numbers.
- National Center for Health StatisticsU.S. health statistics compiled by the CDC.
- State Health FactsCollection of health data and profiles on individual states compiled by the Kaiser Foundation.
- Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) DataData on mental health and substance abuse in the U.S.
- Health Data: World BankHealth data from around the world, collected by the World Bank
- World Health Organization DataThe World Health Organization is a specialized agency of the United Nations that is concerned with international public health.
- Roper Center for Public Opinion ResearchPublic opinion survey data from Cornell University's Roper Institute.
- Pew Research CenterA nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world.
- AfrobarometerAn African-led series of national public attitude surveys on democracy and governance in Africa
- International Foundation for Electoral Systems (IFES) Pre-Election SurveysInternational pre-election public opinion research
Data Visualization
- Data USAVisualization of selected .U.S. public data
Books with Data & Statistics
China Statistical YearbookCall Number: Reference | HA4631 .C47
Europa World Year BookCall Number: Reference | JN1 .E85ISBN: 1857437519- Exit PollsCall Number: Reference JK2007 .B47 2012
Historical Statistics of the United StatesCall Number: HA202 .H57 2006 | ReferenceISBN: 0521817919Publication Date: 2006- Maryland Statistical AbstractCall Number: HA422 .M33 | MarylandMost recent edition at the Reference Desk; older editions in the Maryland Collection
Proquest Statistical Abstract of the United StatesCall Number: HA202 .S72 | OversizeISBN: 1598887939Most recent edition at the Reference Desk; older editions in Oversize Collection on 2nd floor.- Statistical Abstract of Latin AmericaCall Number: Reference | HA935 .S8
A Statistical History of the American ElectorateCall Number: Reference JK1967 .R87 2001
