Getting the Full Text with FindIt! and Interlibrary Loan

Sometimes the full text of an article is not instantly available in OneSearch or a library database, but you can use FindIt! and Interlibrary Loan to help you get the full text.

Interlibrary Loan (or ILL for short) is a co-operative tool that helps library users (like you!) get access to articles and more from other libraries. Here at SMCM, we use a system called ILLiad to help us fulfill your requests for materials we don’t have.

In the OneSearch and library databases, any article that doesn’t have the full text will show either a yellow “FindIt!” button OR a blue "Request through interlibrary loan" link.

Finding the Full Text in Other Databases

When you click the FindIt! button, it peeks into other library database to see if the full text is available there; if it is, the FindIt! screen provides a link to the database where you can get the full text, click "Read full text at..." to access the article. Note that the FindIt! screen will open in a new tab or pop up window.

If Full Text Isn't Available in Other Databases, Check Google Scholar First

If the full text isn’t available in another library database, you have the option to check if it’s available in Google Scholar or place an Interlibrary Loan request; click "Search for related information in Google Scholar."

Pro tip: always check the Google Scholar link first; if it’s available you won’t have to wait to get it through Interlibrary Loan!

If the Full Text Isn't Available in Google Scholar, Request from Interlibrary Loan

If the full text of the article is not available through Google Scholar, place a request for it through Interlibrary Loan; click "Request it from Interlibrary Loan."

Pro tip: if you are looking for a book, check to see if it's available to request through the USMAI catalog before placing an Interlibrary Loan request.

What is Interlibrary Loan?

When you click the “Request it from Interlibrary Loan” link, either on the FindIt! screen or from the blue link on the article page in the database, you are automatically directed to the Interlibrary Loan interface. Interlibrary Loan (or ILL for short) is a co-operative tool that helps library users (like you!) get access to articles and more from other libraries. Here at SMCM, we use a system called ILLiad to help us fulfill your requests for materials we don’t have. Log in with your barcode number as your username and your chosen password. For more info see: What is my barcode?

Never used it before?

Follow the “First Time Users” link to set up an account! For more info see: Why can't I log into ILLiad? 

Submitting an Interlibrary Loan Request

When linking from FindIt! your request is automatically generated with some basic information; add as much information as you can about the article you are requesting. Then click “Submit Request.” 

Pro tip: The more information you include, the easier it is for us to fulfill the request! You can find additional information about the article on the database page. Not sure? Ask a librarian or email us at ask@smcm.libanswers.com

Requests are generally fulfilled within one business day. You’ll be notified by email when your request is fulfilled and you can follow the link in your email to download your article!

Pro tip: requested articles expire from ILLiad after 30 days. Be sure to download your requested articles to your computer, flash drive, or Google Drive!

What if you need to request something that’s not from a database? If you find a great looking source in a reference list, or through Google or Google Scholar (or any where else) you can still use Interlibrary Loan to request it!

Logging Into ILLiad

Log in using the “Interlibrary Loan” button on the Library website: library.smcm.edu. Log in with your barcode and password. For more info see: What is my barcode?

Never used it before?

Follow the “First Time Users” link on the ILLiad homepage to set up an account! For more info see: Why can't I log into ILLiad? 

Submitting a New Interlibrary Loan Request

Once you are logged in, under the “New Request” menu, select the type of source you are requesting and fill out the form. Not sure what to put in the form? Email a librarian at ask@smcm.libanswer.com, and we’ll be happy to help you!

Pro tip: this tutorial focuses on articles, but this is also how you can request books not available through the USMAI catalog.

Link directly to full text articles available through the SMCM Library from Google Scholar search results!

From the Google Scholar home page:

• Click the menu icon in the upper left corner. It looks like three stacked horizontal lines
• Go to Settings
• Go to Library Links & search for "St. Mary's College of Maryland"
• Select "St. Mary's College of Maryland - FindIt@SMCM" & "St. Mary's College of Maryland - ProQuest Full Text"
• Save preferences
• When searching,click the FindIt@SMCM in Google Scholar results to link to the content through the SMCM Library!