Databases
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
-
Civil Rights and Social Justice This link opens in a new window
This database brings together a diverse offering of publications covering civil rights in the United States as legal protections and definitions expanded to cover more Americans. Contains hearings and committee prints, legislative histories on landmark legislations, Congressional Research Service and Government Accountability Office reports, briefs from major Supreme Court cases, and publications from the Commission on Civil Rights.
-
GPO Monthly Catalog This link opens in a new window
Covers all types of U.S. government documents including Congressional, judicial, and administrative areas from 1976 to the present
-
Military and Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. Provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles.
Web Resources
Understanding Legal Language
-
Maryland Courts: Glossary of Court TermsMaryland Courts glossary of court terms A-Z.
-
American Bar Association: GlossaryABA's Consumer's Guide to Legal Help glossary.
-
Legal Information Institute: WexWex is a free online legal dictionary and encyclopedia sponsored by the Legal Information Institute.
Case Searching
-
Maryland Judiciary Case SearchMaryland courts case search. Any cases not in this database are protected by the Maryland Rules on Access to Court Records.
-
Case Access Law Project: Harvard Law SchoolThe Caselaw Access Project allows public access to all published U.S. court decisions and opinions digitized from the collection of the Harvard Law School Library. Cases from 1658 to 2020.
Relevant Resources
-
Library of Congress Guide to Law Online: U.S. MarylandLibrary of Congress Reasearch Guide to all Maryland State and Federal courts information.
-
Georgetown Law Library: Maryland ResourcesGeorgetown Law Library's Research Guide to in-depth resources regarding Maryland legal system.
-
Legal Information ArchiveLegal Information Archive is a digital archive that contains legal information published online. Materials include legal information archived from the Internet.
