Scholarly Journals vs. Magazines
Evaluating Sources
-
Evaluating Information Found on the InternetJohn Hopkins University, Sheridan Libraries
-
Evaluating Web PagesUC Berkeley Library
-
Scholarly and Popular MaterialNCSU Libraries
Finding Articles
Search the databases to find journal and magazine articles related to your topic. Depending on your location, use either the library databases from within the library or search the public databases from a location other than St. Mary's College of Maryland.
Databases & Online Resources
Browse and search all of St. Mary's library databases.
-
Research DatabasesThe full list of databases available at SMCM both on and off campus.
-
Academic Search UltimateThis database covers a variety of subjects and includes articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers.
-
America: History & LifeDatabase providing historical coverage of the United States and Canada. Includes articles from journals and magazines, books and conference papers.
-
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowAlmost every political event, public policy question, or conflict you investigate is going to have some kind of economic issue at its core or substantially related to it. Business Source Complete is the place to look for this kind of information.
-
EconLitThis database includes citations from articles in journals and some books in economics.
-
Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowThis databases includes articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines and books related to environmental studies.
-
ERIC This link opens in a new windowEducational Resources Information Center includes ERIC digests and reports as well as citations from educational journals.
-
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowDatabase providing historical coverage of the world (excluding the United States and Canada). Includes articles from journals and magazines, books and conference papers.
-
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new windowThis database contains articles from scholarly journals, summaries of books, and papers presented at conferences. All are related to political science or international relations.
-
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis database contains articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines, books and conference papers related to social behavior, its origins, development, organization, and institutions.
-
World Bank Open Knowledge RepositoryThis is the open access repository for all World Bank publications. This includes journal articles, books, and working papers.
Try Google Scholar
Link directly to full text articles available through the SMCM Library from Google Scholar search results!
From the Google Scholar home page:
- Click the menu icon in the upper left corner. It looks like three stacked horizontal lines
- Go to Settings
- Go to Library Links & search for "St. Mary's College of Maryland"
- Select "St. Mary's College of Maryland - FindIt@SMCM" & "St. Mary's College of Maryland - ProQuest Full Text"
- Save preferences
When searching, click the FindIt@SMCM in Google Scholar results to link to the content through the SMCM Library!
