The Differences Between PubMed, PMC, and MEDLINE
The product called "PubMed" draws information from a couple different places to build it's database.
The following breaks down the differences between MEDLINE, PubMed, and PubMedCentral (PMC).
MEDLINE: the National Library of Medicine's journal citation database. Journals go through rigorous vetting before they are included in MEDLINE. Sources in MEDLINE also have had MeSH subject headings applied to them, and are therefore able to be searched using that controlled vocabulary. Sources in MEDLINE make up a subset of the articles in PubMed and are accessable through PubMed, or through the specialized MEDLINE database (available through the SMCM Library), which offers additional searching and filtering functions.
- MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more. Coverage from 1857 to the present and full-text coverage from 1865 to the present.
PubMed: includes everything in MEDLINE, plus works that do not have MeSH subject headings, either because they are pre-prints, or because they were published before 1966, and works deposited in PMC (see below). PubMed also contains records for journal articles that come from MEDLINE accepted journals but are beyond the medical information scope, as well as citations for many books available on the NCBI Bookshelf.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
PubMed Central (PMC): contains articles submitted by authors or publishers in compliance with the NIH Public Access Policy and other funding policies that require depositing an Open Access copy of the article in a publicly accessible repository. Though authors and publishers are required to deposit the articles, they still may retain copyright and can impose "embargoes" in which they specify the amount of time that must pass between publication and making the full text freely available (anywhere from six months to a few years).
- PubMed Central This link opens in a new windowPubMed Central (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
Source:
Key Chemistry Resources
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowSearch for scholarly literature via Google. To link to SMCM Library resources, on the Google Scholar page click the menu icon in the upper left corner (it looks like three stacked horizontal lines), select Settings, then Library Links, search for St. Mary's College of Maryland, select "St. Mary's College of Maryland - FindIt@SMCM" & "St. Mary's College of Maryland - ProQuest Full Text," save preferences.
Find print encyclopedias, books, and journals in the library in these call number ranges:
- QD 415-436 - Biochemistry
First floor: Reference
Second floor: Stacks (books) and Journals and Periodicals
Interlibrary Loan
- ILLiad InterLibrary LoanInterLibrary Loan, request articles and borrow books NOT available through USMAI libraries.
Create an account by clicking "First Time Users" and signing up with your barcode number and last name.
Essential Library Resources
- OneSearchSearch most databases at St. Mary's as well as the SMCM and USMAI catalogs.
- SMCM CatalogSearch for books, DVDs, and CDs that the SMCM Library owns.
- USMAI Library CatalogFind books in the SMCM library plus the USMAI libraries. Request books from other campuses.
- My AccountLog in to renew books or check on the status of items you requested.
- Course ReservesSearch for items on reserve for your courses.
- ILLiad InterLibrary LoanInterLibrary Loan, request articles and borrow books NOT available through USMAI libraries.
Create an account by clicking "First Time Users" and signing up with your barcode number and last name.
Learn to use EndNote
Get EndNote
EndNote citation manager software is available for free to St. Mary's students, faculty, and staff.
Download EndNote
- Faculty & Staff:
The EndNote installation files for PCs and Macs are available in the Portal in the Working at SMCM tab under Software.
- Students:
The Endnote installation files for PCs and Macs are available in the Portal in the My Academics tab.
- EndNote Web: You can also sign up for a two-year account with EndNote Web, a cloud-based version of the EndNote program that allows you to sync your Endnote library across multiple computers.
