Chemistry Websites Recommended by SMCM Students
Start here for reliable data on chemical structures, properties, and synthesis
-
PubChemA free, beginner-friendly database with chemical structures, properties, safety, and biological activity data.
-
Organic SynthesesPeer-reviewed and reproducible procedures for synthesizing organic compounds, with full experimental details.
-
Spectral Database for Organic Compounds (SDBS)Access IR, NMR, and mass spectra for a wide range of organic compounds—helpful for lab identification.
-
ChEBI (Chemical Entities of Biological Interest)Dictionary-style descriptions of biologically relevant small molecules. Searchable and useful for beginners.
-
ChemExperA straightforward tool for looking up chemical identifiers and properties based on names, formulas, or CAS numbers.
Explore how chemicals interact with biological systems, including metabolism and drug development.
-
Human Metabolome Database (HMDB)Extensive profiles of metabolites found in the human body—widely used in metabolomics and health sciences.
-
DrugBankCombines chemical, pharmacological, and target information for FDA-approved and experimental drugs.
-
KEGG (Kyoto Encyclopedia of Genes and Genomes)Visual pathway maps that show gene, protein, and small molecule interactions across organisms.
-
BindingDBA database of binding affinities between small molecules and proteins—used in drug discovery and protein chemistry.
Useful for specific areas like lipid research, pheromones, or spectral data.
-
ZINC DatabaseA collection of ready-to-dock 3D molecules used in computational drug screening.
-
ChemBankScreening data and tools for studying small-molecule interactions from the Broad Institute.
-
Computational Chemistry Comparison and Benchmark DataBaseCompare experimental and computational molecular data—ideal for upper-level physical or computational chemistry.
-
AffinDBExplore protein–ligand affinity data extracted from the Protein Data Bank.
-
Madison Metabolomics Consortium DatabaseNMR and MS data for metabolites, ideal for students working with spectroscopy or metabolomics.
-
LipidBankDatabase of lipid types, properties, and classifications, with a focus on membrane biology and biochemistry.
Professional Organizations
-
American Chemical Society (ACS)The largest scientific society for chemists. Offers undergraduate memberships, research presentation opportunities, scholarships, student chapters, and career resources. Ideal for all chemistry majors.
-
American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (ASBMB)Supports students interested in molecular biology and biochemistry. Offers an annual Undergraduate Poster Competition, mentorship programs, and research funding.
-
Biophysical SocietyPromotes research at the intersection of biology, chemistry, and physics. Great for students involved in lab-based or interdisciplinary biochemistry research. Offers student rates and conference presentation opportunities.
-
Council on Undergraduate Research (CUR) – Chemistry DivisionFocused entirely on advancing undergraduate research across disciplines. The Chemistry Division supports student researchers through grants, conference opportunities, and mentoring.
