Research Guides: ENST 245: Recommended Resources

Recommended Resources

SMCM Library Resources

Scholarly Article Best Bets
Print Library Collections

Find print encyclopedias, books, and journals in the library in these call number ranges:

GB: Physical geography

GC1080-1581: Marine pollution. Sea water pollution

GE: Environmental Sciences

GF: Human Ecology. Anthropogeography

GN 301-674: Ethnology. Social and cultural anthropology

HA: Statistics

HB: Economic theory. Demography

HC: Economic history and conditions

HD: Industries. Land use. Labor

R: Medicine

S: Agriculture

T: Technology

First floor: Reference

Second floor: Stacks (books) and Journals and Periodicals

GIS Resources

The GIS Data Depot - GeoCommunity
Free and premium GIS and geospatial data.
Free data formats include DEM, NWI, DLG, LU/LC, and TIGER and are marked with a GREEN icon
Users must register a GeoCommunity account to download
Geospatial Data Resources - CDC
Publicly available datasets organized into four topic areas; Public Health Resources, GIS Data, Social Determinants of Health Resources, and Environmental Health Data Resources
Data Catalog - Data.gov
Publicly available datasets on a variety of topic and in a variety of formats

Student Recommended Resources

Resources selected and recommended by students in the Fall 2016 Environmental Studies Toolkit class (ENST 245).

GIS resources

The Chesapeake Bay Program Data Hub
The Chesapeake Bay Program Data Hub provides GIS and tabular data for Chesapeake Bay water quality, living resources, atmosphere, point sources, and watersheds.
The Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations GeoNetwork
The Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations GeoNetwork geospatial repository provides a searchable mapping service to locate GIS and tabular data associated with global agricultural practices, including agriculture and livestock, ecology, climate, aquaculture, forestry, human health, land use, soil, and human health programs.
MD iMAP: Maryland's Mapping & GIS Data Portal
iMap is the State of Maryland's Mapping and GIS Data Portal. It provides a searchable web map service and data download page to access agriculture, biota, political, transportation, environmental, topography, demographic, hydrology, military, utilities, weather, structure, and public safety GIS and tabular data. Satellite and aerial photography, LiDAR, and shaded relief raster data are available as well.
NOAA's National Centers for Environmental Information
NOAA's National Centers for Environmental Information contains links to reports, GIS data, and tabular data for a variety of programs, including oceans, weather, climate, coastal, natural hazards, and space. It also provides access to radar data, satellite imagery, and model data.
USGS: The National Map
The National Map is a United States Geological Survey web mapping and data download site that provides topographic, boundary, imagery, natural disaster, and land cover data maintained by the USGS.

Government resources

The Maryland Department of the Environment
The Maryland Department of the Environment web site offers reports, state regulations, and data for Air, Land, Water, and Public Health programs for the State. It also provides links to the Environmental Protection Agency web sites providing data and regulations.
United States Environmental Protection Agency: Laws & Regulations
The Environmental Protection Agency's web site providing access to environmental regulatory documents and laws. It provides searchable links by topic (air, land, water, climate, waste, etc.) and by sector (agriculture, automovite, utilities, transportation, etc.).
United States Census Bureau
The United States Census Bureau web site that provides demographic data in GIS and tabular format. The American FactFinder data download center provides tabular data for a variety of demographics (population, ethnicity, income, gender, age) for country, state, county, and census block levels. It provides a TIGER data repository for demographics, political boundaries, roads, landmarks, hydrography, and many other GIS data types.

Library literature database

SciFinder Registration This link opens in a new window
Before first accessing SciFinder-n, users must register for an account here. This link can be used by current SMCM students, faculty, and staff. To register, users must be on campus (within SMCM's IP range) and must use their smcm.edu email address. Once registered, users can access SciFinder-n from on or off-campus.

Not-for-profit organizations

Environmental Integrity Project
The Environmental Integrity Project is a non-profit organization that deals with issues of environmental justice and pollution. The organization conducts research on critical environmental issues and their website provides news articles and reports associated with these issues.