Key Museum Studies Resources
-
American AntiquitySince 1935 American Antiquity has published original papers on the archaeology of the New World and on archaeological method, theory, and practice worldwide. Beginning in 1990, most papers on the archaeology and prehistory of Latin America appear in the Society for American Archaeology's Latin American Antiquity.
-
The American ArchivistPublished since 1938, the American Archivist provides a forum for discussion of trends and issues in archival theory and practice. Peer-reviewed research articles, case studies, in-depth perspectives, and international scene papers address a wide variety of topics, such as digitization and digital preservation, electronic records, selection and appraisal, description and cataloging, reference and public services, preservation, records management, photographs and visual arts, disaster and contingency planning, copyright, intellectual property, legal issues, and authenticity.
-
American ArtInterdisciplinary articles encompassing all aspects of America's visual heritage, including the traditional fine arts, decorative arts and crafts, architecture and landscape design, photography, film and video, and commercial and graphic design.
-
Journal of Conservation and Museum StudiesThe Journal of Conservation and Museum Studies (JCMS) has an overall focus on the care and exhibition of collection items. The scope thus includes conservation science, artefact studies, restoration, museum studies, environment studies, collection management and curation.
-
The Journal of Museum EducationThe Journal of Museum Education, a publication of the Museum Education Roundtable, is the premier publication promoting and reporting on theory, training, and practice in the museum education field. Organized into thematic issues, each issue consists of original, peer-reviewed papers focusing on a key topic of contemporary interest in the development, research, administration or practice of education programs in museums and other informal education institutions. The journal addresses an audience of museum practitioners, museum studies programs, scholars in cultural studies, and researchers and teachers of informal education and museum education.
-
Journal of Museum EthnographyThe Journal of Museum Ethnography (JME) is the journal of record for museum ethnography in the United Kingdom. First published in 1989, it is widely acknowledged as the forum for academic and scholarly contributions to current debates in the field. Published annually, each issue comprises (1) a selection of themed papers arising from the previous year’s conference of the Museum Ethnographers Group (MEG); (2) a section devoted to other articles, research notes, and reports; and (3) a review section covering new galleries, exhibitions, books, and electronic media.
-
Museum AnthropologyMuseum Anthropology seeks to be a leading voice for scholarly research on the collection, interpretation, and representation of the material world. Through critical articles, provocative commentaries, and thoughtful reviews, this peer-reviewed journal aspires to cultivate vibrant dialogues that reflect the global and transdisciplinary work of museums.
-
The Public HistorianFor over thirty years, The Public Historian has made its mark as the definitive voice of the public history profession, providing historians with the latest scholarship and applications from the field. The Public Historian publishes the results of scholarly research and case studies, and addresses the broad substantive and theoretical issues in public policy and policy analysis; federal, state, and local history; historic preservation; oral history; museum and historical administration; documentation and information services, corporate biography; and public history education.
To find print encyclopedias, books, and journals in the library in these call number ranges:
AM 1-501: Museums. Collectors and collecting
AM 10-100: By country
AM 111-160: Museology, Museum methods, technique, etc.
AM 200-501: Collectors and collecting
D: World History and History of Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, New Zealand, etc.
E-F: History of the Americas
G: Geography, Anthropology, Recreation
GN: Anthropology
L: Education
LB: Theory and Practice of Education
N: Fine Arts
Q: Science
QB: Astronomy
QH: Natural History - Biology
T: Technology
Z: Bibliography, Library Science, Information Resources (General)
First floor: Reference
Second floor: Stacks (books) and Journals and Periodicals
Essential Library Resources
-
OneSearchSearch most databases at St. Mary's as well as the SMCM and USMAI catalogs.
-
Learn How to Use OneSearchNew to OneSearch? Learn how to search better with our custom research guide!
-
SMCM CatalogSearch for books, DVDs, and CDs that the SMCM Library owns.
-
USMAI Library CatalogFind books in the SMCM library plus the USMAI libraries. Request books from other campuses.
-
My AccountLog in to renew books or check on the status of items you requested.
-
ILLiad InterLibrary LoanInterLibrary Loan, request articles and borrow books NOT available through USMAI libraries.
Create an account by clicking "First Time Users" and signing up with your barcode number and last name.
Get Articles with Interlibrary Loan
Can’t find full-text access? Use ILL Services to request articles and books from other libraries.
-
Getting the Full Text with FindIt! and Interlibrary Loan
Tutorial on using FindIt! to access the full text of articles and place interlibrary loan requests
