Finding DVDs
To find DVDs at the SMCM Library use the command line search in the library catalog.
1. Go to the Advanced Search screen of the SMCM or USMAI catalog.
2. Choose the command search link at the top or scroll to the bottom of the page. The last search box is the command search.
3. The format of the search is
wlp='target language code' and wty=fd.
Copy and paste the searches below for DVDs in a specific language.
Spanish DVDs: wlp=spa and wty=fd
French DVDs: wlp=fre and wty=fd
German DVDs wlp=ger and wty=fd
Chinese DVDs: wlp=chi and wty=fd
Finding Books
1. Go to the Advanced Search screen of the SMCM or USMAI catalog.
2. Under 'language', choose your language. (French, Spanish, German or Chinese)
3. Enter your keywords, title or author and search as usual.
Are you still getting books with lots of English content? Use the "wlp" command search at the bottom of the Advanced Search page to exclude books with substantial English text.
wlp=fre and wty=bk and wrd=history [retrieves books in French about history].
See the catalog tips for the full list of special limiting codes.
Finding Journal Articles
Most Arts & Humanities databases allow you to limit by language. Use the Advanced Search feature and select the language to search.
Spanish Language Resources
- Clase/Periodica This link opens in a new windowClase indexes articles published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities. Periódica covers journals specializing in science and technology. Search in Spanish for Academic & Scholarly Journals.
Search in Spanish for journal and newspaper articles.
- HLAS: Handbook of Latin American StudesIncludes Spanish and English citations.
- Spanish Language News (Lexis Nexis)Includes all Spanish Language News available on Lexis Nexis.
- Latin American News - Spanish Language (Lexis Nexis)A subset of Spanish Language News from Latin America.
- European New Sources - Spanish Language (Lexis Nexis)A subset of Spanish Language News from Europe.
- Latina Mexican News Sources - Historical (Lexis Nexis)An archive of Mexican new sources from Jan. 1, 1981 - Oct. 10, 1999. Current coverage of Mexican news sources can be found in Spanish Language News.
- HispanófilaPeriodicals | PQ 6001 H55 (1992-2009)
- Proceso (MX)Recent issues available online.
- Revista IberoamericanaPeriodicals | PQ7081 A1 R48 (1992-2009)
French Language Resources
Search in French for newspaper articles and historic texts.
- Bibliothèque Bleue OnlineFull text and page images of texts ranging from the practical (recipes, almanacs, and how-to books) to the pious (hagiographies, prayer books, and other religious instruction) and to the entertaining (fiction, romans de chevalerie, songbooks, burlesque), providing a unique insight into the popular culture of 17th to mid-19th century France.
German Language Resources
Search in German for newspaper articles.
La question noire: histoire d’une construction coloniale by Call Number: HT867 .C67 2007
