Overview
Welcome to the Biology Research Guide. This guide will help you find scholarly articles, reference materials, books, and other resources related to your coursework or research in biology. Use the tabs to explore databases, key journals, and citation tools.
Key Biology Resources
These databases include peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary, and biology-specific content:
-
NatureHigh-impact research in all branches of biology.
-
ScienceCutting-edge research and commentary across all areas of science, including biology.
-
Journal of Experimental BiologyStudies in animal physiology, biomechanics, and neural control systems.
-
Cell Biology InternationalBroad coverage of cell biology research.
First floor: Reference
Second floor: Stacks (books) and Journals and Periodicals
Find print encyclopedias, books, and journals in the library in these call number ranges:
GE: Environmental Sciences
Q: Science
- QH 1-705.5: Natural History and General Biology
- QK 1-989: Botany
- QL 1-991: Zoology
- QM 1-695: Human Anatomy
- QP 1-981: Physiology /Experimental Pharmacology
- QR 1-502: Microbiology
R: Medicine
S: Agriculture
T: Technology
Library Resources
-
OneSearchSearch most databases at St. Mary's as well as the SMCM and USMAI catalogs.
-
SMCM CatalogSearch for books, DVDs, and CDs that the SMCM Library owns.
-
USMAI Library CatalogFind books in the SMCM library plus the USMAI libraries. Request books from other campuses.
-
My AccountLog in to renew books or check on the status of items you requested.
-
Course ReservesSearch for items on reserve for your courses.
-
ILLiad InterLibrary LoanInterLibrary Loan, request articles and borrow books NOT available through USMAI libraries.
Create an account by clicking "First Time Users" and signing up with your barcode number and last name.
Get Articles with Interlibrary Loan
Can’t find full-text access? Use ILL Services to request articles and books from other libraries.
-
Getting the Full Text with FindIt! and Interlibrary Loan
Tutorial on using FindIt! to access the full text of articles and place interlibrary loan requests
Get EndNote
EndNote citation manager software is available for free to St. Mary's students, faculty, and staff.
Download EndNote
- Faculty & Staff:
The EndNote installation files for PCs and Macs are available in the Portal in the Working at SMCM tab under Software.
- Students:
The Endnote installation files for PCs and Macs are available in the Portal in the My Academics tab.
- EndNote Web: You can also sign up for a two-year account with EndNote Web, a cloud-based version of the EndNote program that allows you to sync your Endnote library across multiple computers.
For more information on using EndNote, check out our EndNote Library Guide!
