Scholarly Article Databases
The Differences Between MEDLINE, PubMed, and PubMed Central
MEDLINE: the National Library of Medicine's journal citation database. Journals go through rigorous vetting before they are included in MEDLINE. Sources in MEDLINE also have had MeSH subject headings applied to them, and are therefore able to be searched using that controlled vocabulary. Sources in MEDLINE make up a subset of the articles in PubMed and are accessible through PubMed, or through the specialized MEDLINE database (available through the SMCM Library), which offers additional searching and filtering functions.
Source: MEDLINE, PubMed, and PMC (PubMed Central): How are they different?
-
Medline CompleteProvides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more. Coverage from 1857 to the present and full-text coverage from 1865 to the present.
PubMed: includes everything in MEDLINE, plus works that do not have MeSH subject headings, either because they are pre-prints, or because they were published before 1966, and works deposited in PMC (see below). PubMed also contains records for journal articles that come from MEDLINE accepted journals but are beyond the medical information scope, as well as citations for many books available on the NCBI Bookshelf.
Source: MEDLINE, PubMed, and PMC (PubMed Central): How are they different?
-
PubMedPubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
PubMed Central (PMC): contains articles submitted by authors or publishers in compliance with the NIH Public Access Policy and other funding policies that require depositing an Open Access copy of the article in a publicly accessible repository. Though authors and publishers are required to deposit the articles, they still may retain copyright and can impose "embargoes" in which they specify the amount of time that must pass between publication and making the full text freely available (anywhere from six months to a few years).
Source: MEDLINE, PubMed, and PMC (PubMed Central): How are they different?
-
PubMed CentralPubMed Central (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
Find More Journals at SMCM
-
NatureHigh-impact research in all branches of biology.
-
ScienceCutting-edge research and commentary across all areas of science, including biology.
-
Journal of Experimental BiologyStudies in animal physiology, biomechanics, and neural control systems.
-
Cell Biology InternationalBroad coverage of cell biology research.
-
Biology Journals at St. Mary'sBrowse for ejournals in different subject areas of the life sciences.
-
JournalsSearch for print and electronic journals at SMCM by title or browse by subject.
Interlibrary Loan
-
ILLiad InterLibrary LoanInterLibrary Loan, request articles and borrow books NOT available through USMAI libraries.
Create an account by clicking "First Time Users" and signing up with your barcode number and last name.
Try Google Scholar
Link directly to full text articles available through the SMCM Library from Google Scholar search results!
From the Google Scholar home page:
- Click the menu icon in the upper left corner. It looks like three stacked horizontal lines
- Go to Settings
- Go to Library Links & search for "St. Mary's College of Maryland"
- Select "St. Mary's College of Maryland - FindIt@SMCM" & "St. Mary's College of Maryland - ProQuest Full Text"
- Save preferences
When searching, click the FindIt@SMCM in Google Scholar results to link to the content through the SMCM Library!
