Biology Research Guide

"BRENDA is the main collection of enzyme functional data available to the scientific community."

This resource is powered by the Protein Data Bank archive-information about the 3D shapes of proteins, nucleic acids, and complex assemblies that helps students and researchers understand all aspects of biomedicine and agriculture, from protein synthesis to health and disease.

Journal of AgroBiotechnology Management and Economics

Published by David M. Sander

Information about animal species and extinct and endangered animals

NASA

From HHMI, includes animations and virtual labs

Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory

National Library of Medicine and US Department of Health and Human Services

WorldFish Center: an international scientific research center

Thompson Reuters/Biosis Previews

Cultivated plants and plant/seed sources

This library is a public and easily accessible resource database of images, videos, and animations of cells, capturing a wide diversity of organisms, cell types, and cellular processes. From the American Society of Cell Biology.

Access gene/protein databases and PubMed tools.

Offers discounted student memberships, travel awards for undergraduates, and robust mentoring programs. Their annual meeting includes sessions specifically for early-career scientists.

Actively supports undergraduates with research fellowships, student chapters on campuses, and networking events. Offers webinars and career tools for students.

Offers a student section with leadership opportunities, scholarships, and travel grants. The society is very supportive of undergraduate research in plant sciences.

Hosts the annual GENETICS Society Meeting that includes undergraduate poster sessions, mentoring, and networking. Offers low-cost student memberships and resources for those applying to grad programs.

Provides student resources including mentoring, conference opportunities, and a dedicated SEEDS (Strategies for Ecology Education, Diversity and Sustainability) program aimed at underrepresented undergrads interested in ecology.

Strong support for students with research awards, abstract competitions, and career workshops. The society emphasizes cross-disciplinary biology.